Time-Locked EQ2 Beta Servers Launch Watch

Written by Feldon on . Posted in EQ2, TLE/Prestige Servers

tick-tock

After repeatedly being told that a Progression server was unlikely for EverQuest II, today marks the opening of Beta testing for not one but two EQ2 Time-Locked Expansion (TLE) servers. Although a complete rollback to how EQ2 was at launch is not possible — nor desirable for most — these servers will provide a healthy dose of nostalgia for those players who have wished for more challenge and less of those world-shrinking conveniences such as guild halls, flying mounts, expedient travel, etc.

Of particular interest to PvP players, the Deathtoll server will have a new ruleset that slams the door on many of the ways players currently escape PvP combat, including rapid travel, accessing housing anywhere, Battlegrounds, and flying or leaping mounts. The new ruleset for the Deathtoll server will disable nearly all of these features, which will hopefully lead to a resurgence in the popularity of PvP and may one day replace the struggling Nagafen server.

Three weeks ago, EQ2 Lead Designer Kander posted a PvE and PvP Time-Locked Expansion Server FAQ which provided answers to the first wave of questions that players will undoubtedly have. Because the new Deathtoll and Stormhold servers are opening up as Beta servers, the EQ2 team will be looking to player feedback to make further decisions on what restrictions, buffs, debuffs, etc. should be in place on the new servers.

Update @ 5:06pm PDT

Time-Locked Expansion Servers for PvP and PvE are now available for Beta Testing!

If you want to read past updates on today’s beta launch of these servers, click the link to continue reading. Otherwise, look for a new article announcing their launch!

Update @ 4:42pm PDT

As promised, both TLE PvE and TLE PvP Beta test servers will be available for players to test out.


Update @ 4:27pm PDT


Update @ 4:20pm PDT

From Roshen on the EQ2 Forums:

Our devs are on the beta servers now, checking things out before we open them up to players.

Unless something crazy happens, TLE Beta servers should be ready soon. Once they are I’ll post about it in “all of the places.”


Update @ 2:30pm PDT

Update: Current ETA for Deathtoll and Stormhold servers are now 4:30pm PDT, 7:30pm EDT, July 8 @ 0:30 BST, 1:30 CEST


Update @ 2:25pm PDT

Splitpaw server is back up after a 7 hour maintenance. No word on Storms or Valor.


Update @ 1:15pm PDT

Update: Current ETA for Deathtoll and Stormhold servers now seems to be 3:15pm PDT, 6:15pm EDT, 23:15 BST, July 8 @ 0:15 CEST.


Update @ Noon PDT

Update: Current ETA for Deathtoll and Stormhold servers is 2:00pm PDT, 5:00pm EDT, 22:00 BST, 23:00 CET.


Update at 5:41pm PDT yesterday

Via an exchange on twitter, Holly “Windstalker” Longdale was asked if All Access membership was required to Beta test the new servers. She replied that it was. She further clarified:

Feel free to leave comments here as usual or…
Join us in the EQ2Wire Chatroom to discuss the TLE Servers!

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment

- Name (required)
- Website (optional)
Please post your comments without flaming or insulting other players or personally attacking SOE employees. Comments from bogus e-mail addresses may be deleted. If you wish to have an Avatar picture, feel free to create an account on Gravatar.com. Once you sign up for a Gravatar account, then any Wordpress-powered blog you comment on will automagically show your avatar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Powered by Warp Theme Framework